NCMTA Executive Officers and Board of Directors currently serving

Current Leadership Serving NCMTA

These individuals are serving NCMTA currently in leadership positions on the Executive Board and Board of Directors. Executive Officers are elected by the membership to two-year terms. Other members of the NCMTA Board of Directors volunteer to serve and are appointed by the President.

Interested in serving NCMTA? Please email the current NCMTA President at president@ncmta.org!

OfficeCurrently servingContact Information
EXECUTIVE OFFICERS
PresidentDenise Pugliesepresident@ncmta.org
Vice President, MTNA FoundationDylan Savage, DMA, NCTMvicepresidentfoundation@ncmta.org
Vice President, MembershipSheila Dacus, NCTMvicepresident@ncmta.org
President Elect / Conference ChairTonya M Kirk, NCTMpresidentelect@ncmta.org
SecretarySheryl Tjonsecretary@ncmta.org
TreasurerKay Bagwell, NCTMtreasurer@ncmta.org
Immediate Past PresidentKent Lyman, DM, NCTMpastpresident@ncmta.org
BOARD of DIRECTORS
DEVELOPMENT, OUTREACH, and COMMUNITY-BUILDING
Arts and Advocacy Forum ChairDylan Savage, DMA, NCTMarts@ncmta.org
College Faculty Forum ChairLeonidas Lagrimas, NCTMcollegefaculty@ncmta.org
Independent Music Teachers ForumDr. Jeanine Skinnerimtf@ncmta.org
Development DirectorLeonidas Lagrimas, NCTMeditor@ncmta.org
NCMTA Scholarship Fund ChairDiane Higgins, NCTMscholarship@ncmta.org
MTNA Certification ChairSusan Lynch, NCTMcertification@ncmta.org
Student Activities ChairAnnie Jeng, DMAstudentactivities@ncmta.org
Past Presidents Advisory Council ChairDiane Blanchard, NCTMplanningsenate@ncmta.org
MUSIC SECTIONS
Concert Instrument Teachers and NC Chamber Chairposition vacantWWPercBrass@ncmta.org
Organ & Harpsichord Teachers ChairMary Lou Peeples, NCTMorganharpsichord@ncmta.org
Piano Teachers ChairDr. Douglas Jurs, DMApiano@ncmta.org
Theory & Composition ChairDavid Lanecomposition@ncmta.org
Voice Teachers ChairMargot Hafnervoice@ncmta.org
EVENTS
Conference Chair / President-Elect (also under Executive Board)Tonya M Kirk, NCTMpresidentelect@ncmta.org
Local Conference ChairsTBAlocalconference@ncmta.org
MTNA Competition ChairMark Tollefsen, DMAcompetitionchair@ncmta.org
Concert Instruments Festival Directorposition vacantWWPercBrass@ncmta.org
Performance Festival DirectorEmily Morgan, NCTMfestivaldirector@ncmta.org
Piano Performance Festival DirectorBrenda Degnerpianofestival@ncmta.org
Voice Performance Festival DirectorJennifer Paschalvoicefestival@ncmta.org
PUBLICATIONS and GOVERNING DOCUMENTS
Constitution ChairBarbara Furr, NCTMconstitution@ncmta.org
HistorianCarol Ann Barry, NCTMhistorian@ncmta.org
Editor, NC Music Teachers Leonidas Lagrimas, NCTMeditor@ncmta.org
WebmasterCathy Pescevich Kreplinwebmaster@ncmta.org
LOCAL ASSOCIATIONS – AFFILIATES
Cape Fear Music Teachers AssociationByron Marshall, NCTMmarshallt@uncw.edu
Chapel Hill Music Teachers AssociationMila Karamushkachapelhill@ncmta.org
Charlotte Music Teachers AssociationMargaret Louise Norwood, NCTMcharlotte@ncmta.org
Durham Music Teachers AssociationPosition Vacantdurham@ncmta.org
Greensboro Music Teachers AssociationAnnie Jeng, NCTMgreensboro@ncmta.org
Raleigh Piano Teachers AssociationRenee McKeeraleigh@ncmta.org
Virtual Local Music Teachers AssociationVicky Fischer Faw, NCTMfischer@elon.edu
EX-OFFICIO
MTNA Southern Division DirectorDr. Thomas Swenson, NCTMsoutherndivision@ncmta.org

Coming soon – an all-new handbook with Board Position Job Descriptions!

Click for history of Past Presidents, Teachers of the Year, MTNA Foundation Fellows and more.